Board of Directors & Staff

Board of Directors

The Hessel School House Board of Directors is comprised of Les Cheneaux community leaders, Hessel School alumni, and representatives of the founding families. Each member brings exceptional expertise and personal drive to help sustain the unique history and quality of life of the Eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan and strengthen the Board’s mission to support the Avery Arts & Nature Learning Center in ensuring continued vitality and prosperity for the area its residents.

For additional information, please call the Hessel School House office at (906) 484-1333.

  • President — Susan (Nye) Rutledge
  • Vice President — Linda Sudol
  • Secretary — Bonnie Mikkelsen
  • Treasurer — Diane Keighley
  • Director — Laura (Windsor) Campbell
  • Director — Melissa DeWick
  • Director — Carol (Rye) Duncan
  • Director — John Hessel
  • Director — Carol Hubbard
  • Director — Dan Reelitz

Advisory Board

The Hessel School House Advisory Board consists of skilled and multi-talented individuals with comprehensive professional backgrounds. Their knowledge and experience play vital roles in strengthening the mission of the Hessel School House and Avery Arts & Nature Learning Center, which is accomplished through exceptional programs and activities.

For further information, please get in touch with the Hessel School House at (906) 484-1333.

  • Angeline Boulley
  • John Causley
  • Selden Collins
  • Lisa Dunn
  • Kieran Fleming
  • Anne Fleming 
  • Jane French
  • Clyde Hart
  • Joe Haske
  • Jean Jones
  • Wesley Maurer, Jr. 
  • Carl TerHaar
  • Betsy Turf
  • Zachary Schroeder
  • Pasqua Warstler
  • Moira (Pat) Wilson

Staff Members

  • Kerri Smith — Administrative Director
  • Kristy Beyer — Avery Arts & Nature Learning Center Director


Skip to content